Reviews for Piper Reed, Navy Brat : Library Edition

School Library Journal Reviews 2008 February

Gr 3-5 -Having a father in the Navy means nine-year-old Piper Reed and her family have had to move a lot. When the family discovers that their next move is to Pensacola, Florida, Piper makes a list of everything she will miss at her current home in San Diego. On top of this, she and her sisters will be starting a new school in the middle of the year, instead of at the beginning like everyone else. Piper is concerned that, along with her dyslexia, this will only make it harder for her to make friends and fit in. This is the first title (Holt, 2007) in a new series for younger readers by award-winning author Kimberly Willis Holt, who is a former Navy brat herself. Narrated by actress Emily Janice Card, who brings the spunky Piper to life, this delightful story will appeal to fans of Junie B. Jones and Amber Brown. For public and school library collections.-Amy Joslyn, Fairport Public Library, NY

[Page 66]. Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

School Library Journal Reviews 2009 May

Gr 3-5--Piper Reed, a spunky fourth grader, is back with another series of adventures (Holt, 2008) by Kimberly Willis Holt. Pipers dad, a Navy Chief, is called up on active duty for six months, but imaginative Piper finds plenty of ways to keep busy. The excitement of new neighbors, spending Christmas in a spaceship beach house, taking Uncle Leo to school for show-and-tell, and planning and performing in the first ever "Gypsy Club Pet Show" keep the youngster and her sisters occupied. Emily Janice Card does a fabulous job of bringing this dynamic nine-year-old to life. Fans of Piper Reed, Navy Brat (Holt, 2007; Listening Library, 2007) as well as Barbara Park's Junie B. Jones tales and Paula Danziger's stories about Amber Brown will be delighted with this chapter book.--Amy Joslyn, Fairport Public Library, NY

[Page 57]. Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.