Reviews for Death Comes to Pemberley

Publishers Weekly Reviews 2012 February #4

James's latest mystery is set in 1803 and picks up where Jane Austen's beloved Pride and Prejudice left off: Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet are married and have twin boys. The family lives at Pemberley, an elegant old mansion where they often entertain people of consequence and hold lavish balls. But a murder in the woods on the property interferes with their otherwise idyllic lives and shrouds Pemberley in mystery and fear. Rosalyn Landor turns in an excellent performance, with well-paced narration that captures the posh atmosphere of James's (and Austen's) world. Landor also creates unique voices for the books many characters, modulating her voice for males and lending working-class dialect to servants. Highly recommended for fans of both Austen and James. A Knopf hardcover. (Dec.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2012 PWxyz LLC